10182017Headline:

Findlay, Ohio

HomeOhioFindlay

Email Chrissie Cole Chrissie Cole on LinkedIn Chrissie Cole on Facebook
Chrissie Cole
Chrissie Cole
Contributor •

Ohio Booster Seat Law Goes Into Effect

Comments Off

Ohio’s new booster seat law went into affect six months ago. But during those months violators were given warnings. Starting today, those that break the law can expect to receive a ticket that can cost as much as $75.

The law requires most children ages 4 through 8 or 4 feet 9 inches tall to be in a car seat or booster seat.

The seats will allow adult seat belts to better fit children, which means better protection in the event of an accident, experts say.

The booster seat law is a secondary offense, which means you cannot be pulled over for it.

Ohio is the 44th state to pass legislation to protect children too big for car seats and too small for adult seat belts.